This post will not matter, probably, to anyone but myself: but just in case: I’m trying to make this a more inclusive spot on the Web for reading about international affairs.  And I am mindful of two common themes in news distribution:  The first general theme in public discourse has been the distrust of news agencies, based upon their editorial choices.  The most common of these threads has to do with “the unfairness of the liberal media” as opposed to “right-wing spin” from the White House, at least since the Reagan decade. 

A second common lament is that U.S. citizens rarely get enough news from outlying regions.  The latter concern dovetails with my own desire to reduce personal North-American insularity in my study of international relations.   This means one has to read past the familiar.

The Kidon Media Link site has a comprehensive list of news media organizations, and I have selected some different newspapers to add to this blog’s sidebar.  The problem was, of course, where to stop.  Also, given the quality of the enrolled Weblogs, I don’t see any reason to differentiate them in category from news.  Bloggers frequently reference other news and posts, so you can tell exactly what their sources are: frequently more so than newspapers and newsmagazines do.  If you are really interested in why I chose the links I did, you can read further . . . otherwise, enjoy and explore at will.

By category:

Newsroom-Africa:
The All-Africa site carries newsfeeds from all of Africa, just as its name suggests.  I added papers from Nairobi (East), Johannesburg (South), and  Lagos (West).  I’m still looking at North Africa.

Asia/Pacific:
BBC does a wonderful job for the Asia-Pacific, but I have also added news from Australia, Hong Kong, and Japan.  Xinjiang Watch is a blog that covers a part of China that rarely gets adequate media coverage. 

Europe:
The Economist, because it is great.  EU Observer and Spiegel, because both are comprehensive.  Reuters and BBC are both London-based, so I didn’t feel the need to add any other news agencies.  A Fistful of Euros is an extremely intelligent blog on European affairs, and much recommended by other blogs I admire.

Former Soviet Union:
I suppose that this should really be Europe, and Asia-Pacific, but no: not in my world.  BBC and Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty are excellent resources.  Interfax is an important Russian news agency that covers the CIS.  Kommersant, a Russian daily, is particularly good at business reporting.  FPA Central Asia (my other blog, and the one I spend the most time with) covers Central Asia (including Afghanistan), while Registan.net covers Central Asia (including Afghanistan) and the Caucasus.  Robert Amsterdam, Sean’s blog, and Siberian Light cover events in the Russian Federation.

Latin America:
The main constraint was finding news in English, for instance: Mexico (nothing yet) and Brazil (a weekly).  One paper from Costa Rica and one from Venezuela should round out the emotional picture at least.  Two Week’s Notice is a great blog written by a Professor of Latin American Studies.

Middle East:
Strictly speaking, this would be in the Asia section, but no: too much altogether going on.  Almost everyone writes on the Middle East: BBC in particular does a fine job.  I never understand why people dislike al-Jazeera.  It’s a great paper and tells so much about a world-educated, Arab point of view.  Their access is incredibly good.  More papers to come, probably; these blogs are great, and there are many other great blogs on the Middle East.

North America:
The New York Times and the Washington Post, for reasons I should not have to explain.  In the U.S., we don’t get enough news from Canada, and we assume they think as we do.  Check it out for yourself.
Eclecticity (which hasn’t had many post lately) is part-memoir, part-political commentary blog by an accomplished writer and editor, military wife and mother.  I believe she is in Europe now, but her commentary is generally on U.S. topics.   Wonkette posts on the shadow side of DC, which means they post often, and in the funniest manner possible.

Topics and Issues:
No one topic or issue is covered by any of these blogs–because the topics they cover are extremely complex.  These are all great writers with something powerful to say.

Conflict: News and reports from that premier organization, the International Crisis Group.  The Strategist covers far more than conflict, but this is one of the blog’s main themes.
Development: The World Bank has a blog: Private Sector Development. Civil-Military Relations deals with Conflict and Post-Conflict Reconstruction, and other related issues.  Very thoughtful.
Energy: One news agency–UPI; two blogs, The Energy Blog and The Oil Drum.
International Law: Three blogs–FPA War Crimes, International Law Blog, and Opinio juris.

So in the end, I’m forced to say that I, too, have an editorial stance: no Washington Times, few television affiliated sites . . .

Neither have I busted through an insular North American view: no papers written in foreign languages . . . I’m working on this one. 

But I had to start somewhere.

I’m not linking all these in text when the sidebar holds them all.  The Home Page has the sidebar, the newsroom, the tiny piece of Edward Hopper’s painting Nighthawks–Check it out!

